Scroll to bottom for school & community calendar.
Click HERE to find us on Facebook.

Have a wonderful summer! The school office is open from 9-11 am on Tuesdays
for new student registration, questions, etc.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Cold Stone Creamery + PTA = Yummy!

Buy a Cold Stone ice cream cake for $20 (serves 8) or $25 (serves 14), and Cold Stone will donate $10 to our PTA.

Flyers went home with students today. To purchase, send your money with the sign-up form by December 1. On December 7, you will receive a certificate for each cake you purchased. You can use the certificates at the American Fork Cold Stone anytime you want, and they do not expire.

Box Tops for Education

Each class is collecting Box Tops to earn money for the programs that the PTA sponsors. Clip Box Tops from your food, Kleenex, and other products, and send them to school with your student. The class that collects the most Box Tops will earn a party in the spring.

Register at by December 1, and you'll earn 5 free Box Tops for our school. It doesn't sound like much, but they add up! There's also a contest that you can enter every day from now until December 15. If you win, the school will get 100 bonus Box Tops.

Friday, November 13, 2009

November Teacher of the Month

Congratulations to Mrs. Rogers for being the November Teacher of the Month. Mrs. Rogers is one of our 5th grade teachers.

Reflections Winners

Thanks to all students who entered in our Reflections Contest this year.  We had 274 fantastic entries—close to 25% of our student body submitted artwork. The judges had a really tough time deciding on the winners because we have so many talented students.

Winners: Stockton Jensen, Reagan Taylor, Hilary Taylor, Gabe Summers, Miles Willard.
Honorable Mentions: Sam Powell, Braxton Wall, Kaelie Mounteer, Rylee Rampton, Megan Smoot, Gabby Warren, Madison Boyd.

Visual Arts
Winners: Sadie Sterrett, McKenna Empey, Brooklyn Losee, Colten Empey, Emmalyn Jenkins.
Honorable Mentions: Bowen Revill, Jaycie Hansen, Jayde Gardner, Madison Freeman, Blake Losee, Gabby Maxfield, Abigail Higbee, Kylee Haunga,  Jordan Olsen, Kara Butler.

Joshua Peterson.

Winners: Jovannah Angotti, Nicole Peterson, Taylor Wright, Madison Potts, Victoria Porter.
Honorable Mentions: Sabrina McHenry, Amberlyn Robertson, Eliza Emerson, Hannah Miller, Nathan Novilla, Bryce Peterson, Will Thompson.

Winners: Malorie Kahn, Nolan Voeks.

Three Dimensional Art
Haylee Tuttle, Danielle Lincom, Joshua Peterson, Jaimzlyn Ray, Chloe Browning.
Honorable Mentions: Warren Bodily, Dylan Berlangieri, Jonah Geisler, Bradley Larsen, Chaz Akins, Lauren Shelley.

Winners: Charles Silva, Nate Bacon,
Honorable Mentions: Austin Whiting, Jake Tippetts, Kati Heath.

Music Composition

Winners: Ty Hawkes, McKenna Empey, Makenna Bloxham, Alisa Granata, Maria Granata.
Honorable Mentions: Alec Webb, Ciara Fletcher, Karalee Hobson.

Congratulations to all of our winners!  They were recognized at an awards dinner on Tuesday, November 10. Their entries will now go on to be judged at the council and regional levels. Every student who entered the contest received a special recognition for their efforts. Thanks for all of your hard work to make the contest this year a “beautiful” success!

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Nominating Committee Needed

The PTA needs to form a nominating committee in December. The nominating committee is made up of 3-5 members of the PTA. They meet together and come up with names of people who might be interested and willing to serve on the PTA executive committee for the following school year. The nominating committee meets together a few times, and then the responsibility is finished. Members of the nominating committee cannot serve on the executive committee themselves. The names of those they nominate are placed on the ballot for the PTA election, and PTA members elect the committee members. (For Saratoga Shores, the executive committee includes the president, president-elect, treasurer, secretary, leadership VP and legislative VP.)

The new middle school is also forming a nominating committee. Saratoga Shores needs to provide one committee member; other schools that will feed into the new middle school will also provide nominating committee members.

If you are willing to be on the nominating committee for either Saratoga Shores OR the new middle school, please contact our volunteer coordinator, Ashlie, at Thanks!

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Reflections Awards Ceremony - Date Change

The Reflections awards ceremony will be on Tuesday, November 10, at 7:00 p.m. instead of on Thursday, November 12, as previously announced. Winners will be announced on Monday, November 9.

Monday, November 2, 2009

Reflections Entries Due This Week!

Students can turn in Reflections entries this Wednesday or Thursday, November 4th or 5th, from 7:30 - 9:30 a.m. A table that will be set up near the front office. Make sure your entry form is filled out correctly and signed by student and parent and that the Media Release Form on the back of the entry form is signed by both student and parent. We look forward to seeing lots of great entries this year!